The Blog

Bangalore University is located in the Garden City of Bangalore aptly hailed as the  “I.T. Capital of India”, was established in July 1964 as an off shoot of the University of Mysore, primarily to include institutions of higher learning located in the metropolitan city of Bangalore and the districts of Bangalore, Kolar and Tumkur, which eventually became a separate university. Initially, the two premier colleges of the city, the Central College (CC) and the University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering (UVCE) formed the nucleus of Bangalore University.


Three year honours courses in Botany, Chemistry, Economics, English, Geology, Kannada, Mathematics and Zoology have attracted many talented students. Preference to Honours Passed Students and Ba/B.A. BSc graduates were admitted to postgraduate courses on priority basis, who missed minor admission to postgraduate courses, were given the opportunity to attend the final year honours course and then take admission in post graduate courses. Since 1964, Bangalore University has had a large number of affiliated colleges, Pg.

Approved(UGC), MHRD, Govt. AICTE
University TypeUniversity
Regular ModeYes
StateAll India
Admission OpenLimited Seats Apply Today
Admission ProcessOnline/Offline
Application FormDownload
Online ApplicationApply Now
Fees StructureDepend on University
Contact Number9650073658
CoursesUG & PG, Diploma
Distance EducationGraduation in One Year

Bangalore University UG Admission for courses BA, B.Sc, LL.B, B.Com, BFA, BCA, B.Li.Sc & BHM. At the undergraduate level, the university offers BA, B.Sc, LL.B, B.Com, BFA, BCA, B.Li.Sc & BHM courses along with Integrated BA-LL.B, B.Sc-M.Sc and BMS-MMS in full-time.

Ph.D Ordinance Admissions to Ph.D Programme

A candidate may present himself/ herself for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in Bangalore University, covered under the Karnataka State Universities Act, 2000, with the following Ordinance The Degree of Doctor of Philosophy shall be conferred on the basis of a thesis prepared and submitted for the purpose.

The thesis shall embody the result of original research carried out by the candidate in a Post Graduate Department of Studies or in an Institution recognized by the University as research center under the guidance of a Research Supervisor / Supervisors approved by the University.

Revised Annual Fee & Thesis Submission fee for the Research Scholars under SC, ST, Cat-i, OBC & PwD category

5 years B.A., LL.B Admissions

Admission to B.A.,LL.B (Hons) course will be held on at 10.30am in University Law College, Jnanabharathi Campus, BUB, through counselling and merit cum reservation basis.

B.Ed B.P.Ed.
B.Tech & B.Arch.

B.A. LL.B Course
B.E. (Evening Lateral Entry)

Admission Call: 9650073658

Call: 9650073658