The Blog

Diamond Harbour Women´s University came into existence in 2013. It was established under West Bengal Act XXXVII of 2012 on 28th January 2013. It is the first University in this region and has been envisaged in answer to the long standing requirement of the girl-student of this region and beyond for greater scope in the search for attainment of selfhood. In 2016, the University was recognized under Section 2(f) of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Act, 1956.
This is a region with strong links to the metropolis Kolkata. It is well connected by road and rail and is the gateway to the Sunderbans, an eco-region of recognized significance. It marks the confluence of the mighty river Hooghly (a tributary of the Ganga) with the Bay of Bengal. In January the Gangasagar Mela (Annual Fair held at the Ganges estuary) attracts thousands of pilgrims across the country. The region remains rural, though fishery is an important economic activity, increasingly acquiring industrial dimensions. In recent years, migration, both short and long term has become an important demographic feature of the region.

The Diamond Harbour Road connecting south-west Kolkata to Diamond Harbour has emerged as an education hub. Beginning with the campus of the Indian Institute of Management (IIM) Joka, Calcutta there are other major management institutes such as Calcutta Business School, The Neotia University, etc. There are also well known schools such as Vivekananda Mission, K. E. Carmel School, Ramakrishna Mission Siksha Mandir, etc. The region has a strong tradition in undergraduate education and there are a number of flourishing undergraduate colleges in and around the area.
The University has already started functioning from the academic year 2014-15 with the introduction of 2- year, 4- semester PG courses in six subjects; Bengali, English, History, Political Science, Education and Women´s Studies. At the beginning, classes were temporarily held at Fakir Chand College located close to the Diamond Harbour Railway Station. From the academic session 2015-16, the University moved to its own campus on the Diamond Harbour Road near Sarisha crossing in Diamond Harbour Block II. At present there are 13 academic departments in the University, under the Arts and Science faculties, as given below.

UG Courses PG Courses Diploma
BA MA 3 Months

UG CoursesPG CoursesDiploma
BAMA3 Months
B.ComM.COM6 Months
LLBANM NursingFashion
LLMGNM NursingParamedical