The Blog

The University of North Bengal was established by an Act of the Legislature of West Bengal in 1962 with the mission “to encourage and provide for instruction for teaching, training and research in various branches of learning and course of study; to promote advancement and dissemination of knowledge and learning and to extend higher education to meet the growing needs of society.” 

The University of North Bengal campus covers an area of nearly 315.99 acres of land at the foothills of high Himalaya in close proximity of vast plains around it with a fascinating glimpse of the Kanchenjunga peak, tea gardens and forest cover. 

The University of North Bengal has acquired 31.50 acres of land and has already started setting up another campus at Jalpaiguri by the side of the campus of Jalpaiguri Government Engineering College for widening the dimension and scope of Higher Education and Research in one more Centre for Higher Education through modern studies for spreading advancement of learning in various branches of Humanities, Science and Technology in order to reach the people of this region in a bigger way so that they can have better and easier access to Higher Education. 

The University of North Bengal, since its inception in 1962, has been fulfilling the objectives of imparting higher education and research to the people of this socio-economically backward area of the country. With the global advancement and requirements in the arena of higher education and research, the University has shouldered the responsibility of dissemination of knowledge by judicious expansion of its role in advanced, non-conventional, applied and job-oriented fields keeping the quality of education at par with global standards at low cost. 

The University has taken initiatives in qualitative growth by way of achieving excellence. The Departments are well-equipped with research programmes from various agencies and have received academic distinctions and recognitions.


UG Courses PG Courses Diploma
BA MA 3 Months
B.Com M.COM 6 Months
BBA MBA 1 Year
BCA MCA 2 Years
BSC MSC 3 Years
B.Tech M.Tech PGDM
B.Pharma M.Pharm PGDC
B.Arch M.Arch BAJM
B.Ed M.Ed Acting
LLB ANM Nursing Fashion
LLM GNM Nursing Medical
B.Lib EMBA Polytechnic JEECUP