The Blog

Sadhu Ram Chand Murmu University of Jhargram (erstwhile known as Jhargram University) is a public state-aided University and affiliated to the University Grants Commission, New Delhi, India, in the district of Jhargram, West Bengal, India. The University was established in 2018 as Jhargram University under “The Jhargram University Act, 2017”. The Foundation Stone of the University campus at Jitusol was laid down by the Hon’ble Chief Minister Ms Mamata Banerjee on 9th August, 2018. In 2021, the University was renamed as Sadhu Ram Chand Murmu University of Jhargram (SRCMUJ) through “The Jhargram University (Amendment) Act, 2021”. The ‘Centre for Adivasi Studies and Museum’, an integrated part of SRCMUJ, was also set up as a specialized centre for higher studies on tribal life and culture as well as for the protection, preservation and display of cultural heritage of the people of the Jungle Mahal Region.

The picturesque of the University Campus is unique, covering an area 27.02 acres of land surrounded by lush green Sal wood jungle. A three storied Guest House – “Jungle Kanya” having eight AC deluxe double-bedded accommodations with all modern amenities is situated adjacent to the four storied Administrative-cum-Academic Building. Besides, a three storied Girls’ Hostel -“Sahid Matangini Girls’ Hostel”, capable of accommodating 100 (one hundred students), is located behind the Guest House.

The Academic activities of the University was started on 13th May 2021 with the appointment of the first Vice-Chancellor, Professor Amiya Kumar Panda during the unprecedented outbreak of COVID 19 pandemic (2nd phase). In the Academic Session 2021-23, only four subjects, viz., Santali, Journalism & Mass Communication, English and Mathematics were permitted to the University for conducting Post Graduate Courses by the Department of Higher Education, Government of West Bengal. A total of one hundred seventy-one (171) students got admitted in four disciplines. Out of them, one hundred fifty-seven (157) students have been continuing their Post Graduate courses in the 3rd Semester during the academic year 2022-23. In the Academic Session 2022-24, a total of six hundred thirty-seven (637) students got admitted for pursuing Post Graduate, Post Graduate Diploma and Certificate Courses in twelve subjects (including earlier four subjects), viz., Bengali, History, Santali, English, Journalism & Mass Communication, Music & Performing Arts, Integrated Post Graduate Course in Library & Information Science, Geography, Mathematics, Nutrition & Public Health, Kudmali Language & Culture and Jhumur.


UG Courses PG Courses Diploma
BA MA 3 Months
B.Com M.COM 6 Months
BBA MBA 1 Year
BCA MCA 2 Years
BSC MSC 3 Years
B.Tech M.Tech PGDM
B.Pharma M.Pharm PGDC
B.Arch M.Arch BAJM
B.Ed M.Ed Acting
LLB ANM Nursing Fashion
LLM GNM Nursing Medical